Iwasawa 2023: in memory of John Coates

University of Cambridge, July 17 - 21 2023


This is the ninth Iwasawa conference following conferences in Besancon, Limoges, Irsee, Toronto, Heidelberg, London, Tokyo and Bordeaux. The conference is dedicated to the memory of John Henry Coates.

John Henry Coates (1945 - 2022)

Scientific committee: Vladimir Dokchitser (UCL) – Masato Kurihara (Keio University) – Peter Schneider (Universität Münster)  – Ye Tian (Morningside Centre)  – Sarah Zerbes (ETH Zürich). 

Organisers: Scientific committee  + Tom Fisher (University of Cambridge) + Yukako Kezuka (Jussieu)

Conference poster


  • Bryan Birch (Oxford)
  • Mirela Ciperiani (Austin) (TBC)
  • Pierre Colmez (Jussieu)
  • Matthias Flach (Caltech)
  • Ralph Greenberg (Seattle)
  • Guy Henniart (Orsay)
  • Luc Illusie (Orsay)
  • Mahesh Kakde (Bangalore)
  • Kazuya Kato (Chicago)
  • Yukako Kezuka (Jussieu)
  • David Loeffler (Warwick)
  • Barry Mazur (Harvard)
  • Bill McCallum (Arizona)
  • Bernadette Perrin-Riou (Orsay)
  • Cristian Popescu (San Diego)
  • Leila Schneps (Jussieu)
  • Richard Taylor (Stanford) (TBC)
  • Jacques Tilouine (Paris XIII)
  • Otmar Venjakob (Heidelberg)
  • Andrew Wiles (Oxford)
  • Shing-Tung Yau (Tsinghua) (TBC)
  • Gergely Zabradi (Budapest)
  • Shouwu Zhang (Princeton)


To register for the conference, please fill in this form. The deadline for registration is March 1, 2023.

We have limited financial support available; preference will be given to younger participants. If you wish to be considered for financial support, please mention it in the registration email. Decisions about funding will be made after the deadline for registration.

The conference is organized in partnership with the Clay Mathematics Institute. We are also very grateful to the London Mathematical Society and the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research for financial support.